What’s up with decisions, anyway?

Courtesy of khunaspix of freedigitalphotos.net
Courtesy of khunaspix of freedigitalphotos.net

When I was growing up, I was certain. Not about everything, and most of the things I was sure of were either black and white representations of very complex issues or just straight up wrong, but at least I was sure of them.

It felt nice. I can understand the appeal of right-wing reasoning for that very reason.

The problem is that unless you let yourself stop developing at 16, you soon learn that a lot of the things you were sure about don’t mean very much anymore. I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating some major decisions recently. They’re not urgent, but the lack of clarity in direction weighs on me nonetheless, because they feel like decisions I should have made a decade ago – somehow with the knowledge I have now.

I wish I had an answer to this one. Maybe the trick is really to just coast in life until you’ve worked out what you want to do like so many people I know have done. Maybe the trick is to just do and redo as things change. Maybe there is no trick at all.

Leave a Reply

