What I should have said to Doug Ford…

Ford was out campaigning in my part of town yesterday and tried to hand me a flyer. I don’t think I perform at my peak at 8am on my way to work, so the best I could offer was a “not in a million years” as I walked past.

This isn’t to say that there is literally anything he could say that would convince me to vote for him in the next million years, but that I wish I had taken a few minutes to explain exactly WHY I would never vote for him. I hate that I feel like I sounded like I came to such a decision lightly.

spectrum-of-debate1-chomsky

Not only that, but the answer is fairly simple – “No thanks, Mr. Ford. Your platform scares me. I’ve already seen more than enough of your lies and self-interest delay progress in city starved for it.”

Thing is, it seems so easy to forget sometimes that this nutjob still has a third of Toronto’s voters entranced with his extremely simple wrong answers to highly complex questions. It’s so easy to lose yourself in the promises of Rob Ford, Doug Ford, or John Tory to solve all our problems while lowering taxes and without any disruption to our lives. Meanwhile, they have no solid financial grounds for their platforms or even operational plans for how to implement their plans if they had the money, but it seems so wonderfully easy it’s so hard not to fall pray to the deceit.

They don't even have the decency of sporting a bitchin' mullet.
They don’t even have the decency of sporting a bitchin’ mullet.

So no, Doug. I won’t be voting for you, just as I didn’t vote for your brother. There’s too much at stake to put our faith in the easy way out.

3 thoughts on “What I should have said to Doug Ford…

    1. You know, as I walked away I heard one of his supporters say “Well that was nice!” and I couldn’t decide how I felt about it. On the one hand, she was right, and if I had a bit more time I’d have liked to be more civil, but at the same time I think you’re right as well – the Fords only understand the bluntest of tools.

Leave a Reply

